Guest A- “uff ki darun khelam re! darun hoyche fish fry ta..caterer er number nebo pore, amar cheler biye porer bochor”

(Uff the food was amazing! The fish fry was superb..will take the caterer’s number later,my son is getting married next year)

Guest B- “reshmi kebab ta just mukhe gole galo..ahaha..ami to akai bodhoy 8-10ta shabar kore diyechi”

(The reshmi kebab was simply melt-in-your-mouth..i myself polished off at least 8-10!)

Guest C- “oi kheyechilam arsalan er biriyani, ar ei khelam aj..just kono kotha hobena! tor kaku to shobjaygay khetei chayna re, ar aj 3 bar cheye khelo! Ashi re”

(The last good biriyani i had was from arsalan, and now this! Wow..your uncle dislikes eating outside but took 3 helpings today! Am coming today, bye!)

As the guests burp and wave their aforementioned fond farewells,the bride and groom sit, plastic smiles etched on their faces while their tummies rumble and complain loudly….

givefoof

I always thought the real reason of crying when the Yagna is going on was the thoughts of your best friends wolfing down your share of chicken tandoori and fish paturis (Bengali fish preparation) while you sat, coughing in the smoke, almost scorched by the frolicking flames, panditji chanting incomprehensible mantras and knowing you would have cold dinner, meager portions on colder,semi-dried and just washed plates while still smiling happily at the camera.

This is the only scenario which scared me whenever i used to think of getting married ๐Ÿ˜€ me, a perpetually hungry, overfed, food-loving person who attended each and every wedding of her life solely led by the promise of food.

going home

*naahh, dressing up and showing off was never my forte!* I could never get past this abominable thought of sitting, all decked up, itchy, scratchy, tired,VERY HUNGRY, jaws aching while delicious smells wafted by. waiters would cruise past, their silver trays heaped with chicken and paneer pakoras, lined by a wad of napkins and a toothpick basket – the guests would ย tear upon them and while jabbering with the bride and groom, would pile up a small mountain of starters in their hands and gulp them down while the shy, polite just married couple pretended not to notice and not to scream inside.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-306-1379539185-6-1441735535

For me, nothing could compare to this sheer torture, dished out by my own family, friends and guests ๐Ÿ˜ฅ i would rather sign on court papers and jump on my food thank you very much :-/ ย the Boy too, wanted a court marriage *for entirely different reasons though -_-* but our fathers spoil our plans and made us jump on this big fat Indian wedding bandwagon where I chose my own wedding menu months ago ๐Ÿ˜ฅ knowing fully well the succulent fish fries, the buttery paturis would probably be over by the time we would be allowed to devour the morsels!

i_cant

Since my school days, when marriage was the farthest thing on my mind *the closest thing usually was looking forward to the next KFC treat which was a big hullabaloo back then* I made all my close friends promise to smuggle me at least the starters on my wedding day when I would sit famished *_*

giphy (2)

and now after all these years, among the few things which remain unchanged, these intentions are some ๐Ÿ˜€ the nitty gritties added now are the following~

1> warning my friends to bring gifts which I like– just a gift is not enough, otherwise dinner cancelled! ๐Ÿ˜ก

2> wanting to tear open the gifts of every guest as soon as I am handed them, sitting on my *throne* and filtering my guests as to who would be eligible for a second paturi and who would just get kochuri and some measly potatoes to eat and leave ^_^

BD50a4SCAAEY7lH

Needless to say, my brilliant suggestions received a lot of flak from my disgruntled mother and my fiance *whose mental age hovers quite close to my mother’s :-|* and they looked at each other and back at me, shaking their heads in despair like i was a loony bin candidate ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I DO NOT CAREEE…i will have my way, i will i will *_* Will I ? ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Coming to the last leg of food for thought, here is an update on my cooking skills *or rather, the lack of,*

I could make tea in class 2 and maggi from class 6 but astonishingly, my skills remained suppressed *my laziness played a huge role as did my ever-scared mom* but that did not stop me from sniffing out the different spices from food, knowing the different dals and their *phoron* just by their smell *of course my habit of picking out phoron from everything like flies helped in this :P*, distinguishing between chicken and, mutton through sniffing out their characteristic flavors from the similar typical curry of our house..going to the extent of teaching a friend in class 7 to prepare french toast which she made next day and BTW which i had never made in my life and exclaimed that it was delicious ๐Ÿ˜›

I taught my fiance a great many dishes too, different vegetables, noodles very recently and most of them turned out to be quite well and nope, i have never cooked them myself ๐Ÿ˜€ It’s just the *knack* I guess but I do cook sometimes just for therapy ^_^ I make corn and cheese pasta, mushroom noodles, schezwan chicken and garlic bread to name a few,IMG_20150909_212338089

IMG_20150907_211111484

making my mama *maternal uncle* wonder what will i feed my husband?- every time he asks me what I have learnt to cook and i reply *sandwiches* with a straight face.

I will pull through, I am confident ๐Ÿ˜€ cooking and relinquishing the different flavors, the smells..its pure therapy, pure magic ๐Ÿ™‚ I have one or two gripes however- I tend to scoot and evacuate the kitchen whenever pieces of fish are flung into the hot oil and spluttering ensues~ the Boy assured me he would fry the fish if i make the curry, fine by me!

I cannot roll out round rotis, the patent peeve ๐Ÿ˜› and I really do not care ‘coz my tummy won’t know would it if it has been fed a round roti or an indian map shaped one? but…if difficult times crop up *a visit from elderly relatives* the hubby would roll them out *yes, duh he can make roundies :D*

480x308xmain-qimg-0d13bafa8f3f25cb5335ee1b7d1343b0.jpg.pagespeed.ic_.gbikwx2fg7ย  ย  ย roti

So that’s settled then, as are we *_* keep going through my banter and wait for my next countdown to be up ๐Ÿ™‚

Note by Posto:ย Names, characters, businesses, places, events and incidents are either the products of the author’s imagination or used in a fictitious manner. Any resemblance to actual persons, living or dead, or actual events is purely coincidental. In short , round roti made by me is a myth. Period.

One thought on “90 days left~ Food for Thought!

Leave a comment